top of page
  • Writer's picturejennifer ellis

Full Moon Workshops

I have been searching for a way to introduce the pleasure of intuitive techniques and process painting to other people who enjoy making art....One day it occurred to me as I looked up, that the moon cycles once a month. There is a wonderful energy present when the moon becomes full. In an instant I had found a schedule that I could commit to, one that is already mapped out. On February 19, 2019 I will be hosting the second class in the series of workshops. I enjoy the freedom of not knowing what will appear on the canvas, but I learned from my first class, this is a difficult concept for some people. So in this second workshop we will have an end goal, but I am hoping the process to get there will open the classes mind to utilizing their intuition, being present in the moment, and not fixated on the product or the outcome. For me, painting is an evolution of layers. The end product is a symbol of the journey to get there.

In the picture shared on this page, I began with the thought of the Snow Moon. I made some sketches to see what would appear and an owl came to the page. The next day, I went to my studio and sat before a blank canvas with the owl in my mind. As I painted layers of translucent color, the owl in my mind appeared in shadows of color. I stayed in the moment and without directing or knowing I created this image. The challenge now is to guide others on this magical journey.

Snow Moon painting for the Feb.19,2019 workshop

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

bottom of page